8 ways to practice the art of productive disagreement

A brief tour of the framework from Why Are We Yelling?

Buster Benson
Why Are We Yelling?

--

http://busterbenson.com/whyareweyelling

Why Are We Yelling? The Art of Productive Disagreement comes out on Nov 19th. It’s on sale today.

New products often give you a tour of what they do to help you decide if they’re worth buying or not. Books like to remain more mysterious because of the fear that their ideas are too easy to compress into much shorter pieces.

I would like to face this fear head on because my approach was different… I tried to pack as many multidisciplinary ideas into the book as possible, each chapter organized around a practical “thing to try”.

I’m not an expert, I’m a curator and synthesizer of experts in service of making them more approachable and useful in everyday life. I don’t get invited to expert panels because none of the ideas are “mine”. But on the ground people like me are useful, I think.

Anyway, that’s my hope. We’ll see!

In this spirit of giving people as much information as they might want before deciding to make a purchase, here’s a quick tour of my book’s 8 things to try.

Why Are We Yelling? is a book about 8 things we can practice in order to improve the art of productive disagreement.
Table of Contents
1st thing to try: watch how anxiety sparks
Chapter 1
2nd thing to try: talk to your internal voices
Chapter 2
3rd thing to try: develop honest bias
Chapter 3
4th thing to try: speak for yourself
Chapter 4
5th thing to try: ask questions that invite surprising answers
Chapter 5
6th thing to try: build arguments together
Chapter 6
7th thing to try: cultivate neutral spaces
Chapter 7
8th thing to try: accept reality, then participate in it
Chapter 8

And to show they’re not my ideas, here’s the list of books by experts that most influenced each of the chapters. If you don’t want to read my book just read these instead. They’ll all really good and of course cover a lot more than just productive disagreement. 😂

There’s one kind of knowledge that allows you to describe productive disagreements, and another kind that allows you to generate productive disagreements. This short tour is meant to give you the first kind of knowledge, but I hope that reading the book and practicing will give you the second.

Thank you for coming on my tour! Of course at the end of every tour you can expect to find a gift shop. This one is no different. We do accept credit cards. Don’t forget to validate your parking.

Download a free chapter and learn more about the book:

If that looks interesting, here’s where you can get the full book:

Join my newsletter:

--

--

Buster Benson
Why Are We Yelling?

Product at @Medium. Author of “Why Are We Yelling? The Art of Productive Disagreement”. Also: busterbenson.com, new.750words.com, and threads.net/@bustrbensn