Zach Herring
Thinking About Making
1 min readMar 31, 2015

--

Go to DuckDuckGo and search “!m nearby coffee”

Are you as wowed as I am?

By using an incredibly easy !bang search parameter we have one of the fastest search shortcuts I’ve found. This feature also makes auto-searching Maps (!m) and Images (!i) possible where it wasn’t before. This is a feature I’ve been silently begging Google to implement each time I’ve had to Google.Image search a stupid gif to spam workchat with.

The point is, they’re adding functionality to a competitor’s product because it’s best for their customers. This is an incredibly confident and clever solution that was only possibly by valuing the user’s experience over protectionism.

*ahem* Sorry. I just had to gush like a fanboy for a couple of paragraphs to get over that.

SO, I’m switching my default search over to DDG today. I’ll check in later to let you know how it goes.

--

--