A How, A What, And 15 What Ifs

Joleen Lee
Thinking Thoughts
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2017

​The most effective kind of self-reflection is one that follows a specific structure. Whether it’s a list of questions or a mindmap that breaks down a problem, there has to be a particular framework that leads to a course of action. What do you do after listening to an inspiring story? The story doesn’t change you until you reflect on yourself and apply the principles.

This list of questions is literally taken from a page of my journal and it has helped me make some big decisions in my life. The questions are meant to be answered slowly and carefully instead of skimmed through, so take your time on them. Hope they help you too, in whatever way possible.

What if I’m not living up to my fullest potential?

What if I can use much more of my brain than I’m using right now?

What if I can be someone really noble and make a big difference to the world?

What if I can be much stronger, bolder, more adaptable and resistant than I thought I could ever be?

What if I’m not actually broken, just distracted?

What if I make plans by putting my priorities first?

What if I can be much more than I thought I would be?

What if I die next week?

What if comfort is just an illusion and life is supposed to be really uncomfortable?

What if I push myself physically and mentally every single day?

What if I do something that totally scares me?

What if I tell everyone what I’m really thinking?

What if I just have to find the right words within me to make an impact?

What if I’m immune to people’s opinions about me?

What if I can become exactly the person that I want to be?

How would I live my life?

What would I do today?

Before you go

Please give a ❤️ below if you like this article and share with someone that would benefit from it. I would love to hear your thoughts too. Follow Thinking Thoughts on Medium, Facebook and Twitter if you would like more think pieces. Thanks for reading, guys! 😊

--

--

Joleen Lee
Thinking Thoughts

UX writer @foodora/foodpanda | https://jolkat.com | Always learning, always writing.