Why I’m a Better Writer with the Pen and Paper Approach

One of the very best way to connect with your own words

Christopher P Jones
Thinksheet
Published in
4 min readJan 5, 2020

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I’m lucky to be blessed with terrible handwriting. Not so long ago I made a conscious effort to improve it by slowing down my writing hand and attempting to “pronounce” each letter more gracefully — the sort of handwriting I usually reserve only for birthday cards and love notes.

It wasn’t long however before I started to slacken off again, returning to my usual semi-legible scribble that I alone can understand. I just didn’t have the stamina to keep up that handsome calligraphy.

There was another problem with my cleaned-up, pretend-nice handwriting too, which was that it wasn’t my own.

The “environment” of your own handwriting

The uniqueness of a person’s handwriting creates a type of secret environment. If your handwriting is as dismal as mine, you will understand what I mean. It becomes like a secret code; others simply can’t access it.

But there is more to it than just illegibility.

When I write, I do so mainly in notebooks, each of which get replaced once the pages are full. I have cupboards choked with old notebooks, which I’m unable to throw them away because they have both…

--

--