Self-Reflection: Being a Technology Executive — by Gopi K Kancharla

10 questions that I asked myself.

credit: Harvard

1 → What Most important skills as a tech executive I should have?

Strong technical background, Excellent leadership and communication skills, and Ability to think strategically and make data-driven decisions. Able to manage complex projects and motivate teams to achieve their goals. Foster a council culture, but not a bossy culture.

2 → What is one complex technical problem I solved in my career and how I went about solving it?

I have a personal story from my time working on a product called Unigy at IPC. Unigy is a product used by traders at stock exchanges. I take pride in having built the entire user interface while managing geographically distributed teams. I started as the only engineer and gradually build and led the whole UI team. This opportunity was given to me by Ravi Vankayala, an engineering manager who trusted an unknown person like me. I spent most of my time working on an airplane while traveling and worked an average of 16 hours a day to bring the product to market faster. I solved this by setting the direction, writing code myself, building a competitive environment, guiding the engineering teams, keeping everyone on the same page to achieve a common goal, and inspiring and motivating the teams.

My take here: When you believe in something, you don’t need coaching — you’ll figure out what’s needed automatically.

3 → How did I balance myself when it comes to technical decisions with business needs when developing a product?

I always feel it is very important to consider both the technical feasibility of a solution and its potential impact on the business. I always start by understanding the business goals and then work with the team to identify technical solutions that meet those goals while also being technically feasible and scalable.

4 → How do I approach managing a team of engineers and ensuring they are productive and motivated?

I believe in creating a collaborative environment where everyone’s ideas are valued, heard, and respected. I used to provide clear goals and expectations and then give the team autonomy to achieve them. I also believe in providing ongoing feedback and coaching to help team members improve and grow in their roles.

5 → How do I stay current with the latest technology trends and ensure my team is also up-to-date along with me?

I stay up-to-date on technology trends by attending conferences, reading industry publications, and participating in online communities. Possibly doing POCs over the weekends. I also encourage my team members to attend industry events and share their knowledge with the rest of the team. I encourage them to build a network.

6 → When did I make a difficult decision about a technology solution, and guess what, how you arrived at that decision?

While working at Capital One, I was faced with a decision to either build a new solution in-house or use a third-party vendor for a project. After conducting a cost-benefit analysis and considering the long-term impact on the business, I decided to build the solution in-house. This approach was more cost-effective and allowed me to quickly address other critical customer business needs without having to retrofit my business into a third-party product, which would have caused delays in bringing the product to market.

7 → How did I prioritize technical debt and *legacy code* when developing new features or products?

I believe in balancing the need to maintain and improve existing systems with the need to innovate and develop new features. I work with the team to prioritize technical debt and legacy code based on the impact it has on the business and our ability to innovate.

8 → What did I do to ensure security and data privacy when developing and implementing technical solutions?

Security and data privacy are critical considerations in all of my technical solutions. I implemented best practices for data encryption, access control, and authentication, and I asked my teams to have regular tests and audits in place for our systems to identify and address potential vulnerabilities.

9 → When did I lead a team through a major technical change or migration?

I led a team through a migration from an on-premise data center to a cloud-based infrastructure. I developed a detailed plan that included testing and contingency plans and communicated regularly with all stakeholders to ensure a smooth transition. I also provided training and support to help the team adjust to the new system.

10 → What is my approach to fostering a culture of innovation and continuous improvement within my technology team?

I believe in creating an environment where everyone feels empowered to innovate and share their ideas. I encourage experimentation and provide opportunities for my team members to learn and grow. I also regularly review our processes with my leads. I provide an environment for my teams to fail.

Find my other articles @ my publication: ThinkSpecial

--

--