Lessons from my Mentor

Life is short; sometimes unfair too!

Vinay C
Think Tank
2 min readMay 31, 2021

--

COVID has caused a lot of disruption, many lost their jobs, many lost their dear ones, well, I lost a wonderful Mentor šŸ˜•

Anil Kumar R ā€” An extremely talented, gifted Software Architect, yet the most down-to-earth person. So much to say, I donā€™t think a blog can cover it all. We will always miss you Anil.

Over time, unknowingly you have taught me, inspired me, and mentored me in so many ways. I thought of penning down some of thoseā€¦ I will carry these learnings for the rest of my lifeā€¦

  • Constant learningā€Šā€”ā€Šinformation is free, your interest is what matters!
  • Attend conferencesā€Šā€”ā€Šitā€™s a fantastic place to learn & network.
  • Never panic in any situationā€Šā€”ā€Šbe captain cool! Thereā€™s a solution to every problem.
  • Connect with peopleā€Šā€”ā€Škeep in touch.
  • Say YES to opportunitiesā€Šā€”ā€Šyou never know what future unfolds
  • Donā€™t stop at answersā€Šā€”ā€Šunderstand the method of finding answers (GBM)
  • Make books your best friend ā€” Friends come and go; Wisdom doesnā€™t.
  • Mentor/groom juniors
  • Make timeā€Šā€”ā€Šfor those who need your help. Itā€™s okay to say not now, but never say no.
  • Humbleā€Šā€”ā€Šitā€™s not what youā€™ve got, itā€™s how you behave that defines you.

And last but not least,

  • CHASE BIG DREAMS ā€” impossible is nothing.

Life can sometimes be unfair, and this time it has been outright brutal. I still cannot imagine going to the office and not being able to see you around Anil. Will miss you forever. Your loss is irreplaceable.

Even while leaving us, youā€™ve taught us a lesson ā€” life is short, unpredictable and it is important to cherish the present moment than anything else in this world.

Thank you for everything Anil.

May your soul rest in peace šŸ™

--

--

Vinay C
Think Tank
Editor for

Principal Engineer @ Oracle | Microservices, Cloud & AI Evangelist | www.vinayc.me | www.linkedin.com/in/imvinayc