30 Seconds with 30M: Jasmine Jones

Thirty Madison
Thirty Madison
Published in
3 min readJan 27, 2022

Name: Jasmine Jones

Title: Press and Communications Lead

What does a typical day look like for you?

Anyone who works in PR and communications knows every day might look different! But that’s part of what I love about it.

On a typical day, I like to use the first part of my morning to catch up on the news, monitor trends, and take mental notes of what types of stories reporters are covering. After that, I may devote some time to mapping out a press and communications strategy for Thirty Madison or one of our brands. I could also be supporting a member of the leadership team by helping them prepare for an upcoming media interview. And I always enjoy meeting with team members across the business to find out what’s going on within the company. This helps me stay up-to-date with what we’re working on and uncover any potential newsworthy updates — almost like an internal investigative journalist.

How did you end up at Thirty Madison?

I was fortunate enough to be found by a recruiter. Sharan Ghai found me on LinkedIn to talk about the opportunity to join Thirty Madison. I had no experience in the startup world, but I had recently been at a small nonprofit and other smaller companies. After one year in, I can say that those experiences definitely helped prepare me for some of the challenges and opportunities that come with working in a startup environment.

Sometimes I think we have a tunnel vision with our careers and expect them to be linear, maybe because that’s what society often tells us. But I’ve found that most people’s career paths (including mine) are the exact opposite, and that can be a good thing.

What’s the most important thing you’ve learned while at Thirty Madison?

Learning about the nuts and bolts of our brands and finding creative ways to talk about them to the media. It’s a core part of my role and also one of my favorite things to do. For example, it’s really exciting to see how our care model comes to life for people dealing with allergies vs. people who have chronic migraine. It’s cool to ask questions, be curious, and explore the gaps in care and how we can help people get the care they need at the right time.

What career advice do you have for someone who’s interested in healthcare but who is not sure where to start?

It’s funny to see this question because my background is so varied. While I started my career at a health communications firm, I don’t have deep healthcare experience. But that’s the cool thing about Thirty Madison. We believe we can create better health experiences with a team of people who have 30+ years of experience in healthcare and people from outside healthcare. I think there are quite a few benefits to this: 1) we widen the applicant pool for recruiting different kinds of people, and 2) it helps us come up with ideas that are innovative and different to what the typical healthcare experience is like.

What’s a fun thing that you’re obsessed with?

I’m a big fan of the Axios newsletter and how they approach news. They recently launched more local versions, including a DC newsletter, so it’s been cool to see them talk about what’s going on in the District (where I’m based!) every day.

On things not related to work: I spent 2021 starting up my sneaker selection, inspired by my little sister who is much, much cooler than me. My latest pair is the Air Jordan 6 Gold Hoops. And I’ve gotten sucked into Wordle.

What’s a fun fact about you?

The world is pretty crazy right now, and I’ve found volunteering to be a helpful way for me to try and work through that. I volunteered as a poll worker for the 2020 election, I wrote letters to voters with Working for America, and I currently serve as co-chair of the PRSA National Capital Chapter’s pro bono committee.

--

--

Thirty Madison
Thirty Madison

Thirty Madison is a family of specialized healthcare brands creating exceptional outcomes for all. Check us out at www.thirtymadison.com