Computing Nostalgia: Returning to Windows 3.1

Grace Mary Power
Thirty over Fifty
Published in
5 min readDec 26, 2022

--

Photo by Nathan Fertig on Unsplash

Windows 3.1 required 1MB of RAM to run and allowed supported MS-DOS programs to be controlled with a mouse for the first time. Windows 3.1 was also the first Windows to be distributed on a CD-ROM.

In 1992 when Windows 3.1 was released, I was 29 years old.

I can still remember to the day when Windows 3.1 made its entrance in my government workplace. I was thrilled at this shiny new graphical user interface, while many of my colleagues shrunk with fear from something new. They looked desperately at each other and I could almost hear their thoughts “what happened to using our good old Function Keys?” These were PF keys or Programmable Function keys which were used instead of using Windows!

Those were the days when we had a data entry section with batching using Transaction Codes and forms, and we also kept records on microfiche. These processes kept us on “our toes” and kept us connected as they required close and accurate team work.

I soon become adept at using the newfangled computer operating system, looking forward to developments. They came soon in the guise of Windows 95, then Windows 98, both of which I respected and liked.

At age 32, when Windows 95 came onto the scene I had an IBM compatible Pentium 200 MMX computer.

--

--

Grace Mary Power
Thirty over Fifty

Editor of Thirty over Fifty. I help you to care for yourself through spirituality and tech. We need both.