How Emotional Maturity Helps Us Appreciate the Way People Process Anger

Taking the time to responsibly process a conflict is a tremendous opportunity for personal growth

Walter Rhein
Thirty over Fifty
Published in
7 min readMay 23, 2024

--

Image by Walter Rhein — Drawing by his Daughter

I don’t like conflict, but sometimes conflict is inevitable. When I have an argument with my wife, it’s usually because we’re both dealing with external stresses and we don’t have the energy left over to properly support each other.

Looking back, our arguments seem trivial, but they always feel serious in the moment.

I tend to be a people pleaser. That’s generally regarded as a positive, but I think there’s a tendency to overlook how conflict avoidance can be a form of manipulation. The older I get, the more I’ve had to come to terms with some harsh truths about myself. Fortunately, I trust my wife to provide me with insight into the things I cannot perceive.

Even when we disagree, I trust her in that.

It’s understandable that young people would fear conflict. However, I’ve found that sometimes the best way to minimize the damage is to step back and allow conflict to run its course.

The lingering influence of past trauma

--

--

Walter Rhein
Thirty over Fifty

I have 10+ years experience as a certified English and Physics teacher. 20+ years of experience as an editor, journalist, blogger and novelist.