I’m 54 and I Just Started My Own Business

Yes, I’m a bit scared, but don’t they say you should do things that scare you?

Dani Mini
Thirty over Fifty

--

Photo by Anima Visual on Unsplash

The most exciting email I’ve gotten this year came from the Connecticut Secretary of State. It begins thus:

Dear Daniella Mini Education Advocacy L.L.C.,

Congratulations. Your business filing — 0012564543 was successfully filed with the Connecticut Secretary of the State.

It’s official. I have a registered business entity. There’s no stopping me now!

I get that I’m a tad euphoric and that it will take a lot more work, but a person has to celebrate the little successes along the way. Seeing my name and new career pursuit followed by “LLC” has given me immense confidence that this next act will be amazing.

The road to my third act

I was a public school teacher, my second professional act, for 17 years. Though I loved what I did, I desperately wanted a change. Being a special education teacher is immensely rewarding but also exhausting and often stressful.

I loved the kids, the parents, my colleagues, and the instructional work, but I was getting restless and tired. I didn’t want to leave the profession irreparably burned out, and I knew that, if I waited…

--

--

Dani Mini
Thirty over Fifty

Dani is a special education advocate and writer of anything worth pondering, from autism to Botox.