Let Me Leave a Trail

A poem

Tom Kane
Thirty over Fifty
Mar 26, 2024

--

Let me leave a trail
of wildflowers
where I’ve walked,
so they may bloom
when I am gone.

Let my footprints
leave an imprint
not on the earth
but in the hearts
of those whose paths I crossed.

I’ll scatter starlight
in my wake
like breadcrumbs
leading the way back
to wonderment.

Build an altar
to the quiet moments
holier than any cathedral,
that space between
inhale and exhale.

Let every word
be a seed taking root,
a garden growing
wild and unrestrained
in the soil of souls.

If you enjoyed reading this, you may also want to explore and subscribe to my weekly Newsletter, Poetry Genius, which contains tips and discussion on all aspects of poetry writing.

--

--

Tom Kane
Thirty over Fifty

Retired Biochemist, Premium Ghostwriter, Top Medium Writer,Editor of Plainly Put and Poetry Genius publications on Medium