The Truth About Learning to Be a Writer

Writing is hard and failure is an option. Is it a lie to call yourself a writer if your words have not earned fame and fortune?

--

The “Sign Here” section at the bottom of page one of the 2018 Form 1040 Income Tax Return stumped me. Having spent the first half of my life as an accountant, the difficulty in completing this particular line item was unexpected, to say the least.

It’s not even a question really. More of a request for identification, a simple descriptive label. This should be the easy part of the tax return.

The empty line following the words Spouse’s occupation screamed for the truth. Could I legitimately label myself as a writer?

Just type the word Writer and move on to the next question. What is the problem here?

Staring at my Form 1099 from Medium, I wondered whether or not this document had the power to brand me a writer.

“I want to say that I’m a writer,” I told my husband. Can I say I’m a writer?”

He hesitated before replying, “You can say whatever you want to say.”

I’ve known my husband for over a quarter of a century. Whether his moment of silence is the width of a chasm or as brief as a…

--

--

Tammy Hader - Author of Walking Old Roads
Thirty over Fifty

Ex-accountant, lifetime cat lover and avid wearer of hats. Author of Walking Old Roads available on Amazon.com. Visit me at https://tammyhader.com.