Why My New “Gangsta” Title Felt Great And Rocked My Day

Validation from a stranger and the power and impact of words

Michelle A. Patrovani - M.A.P.
Thirty over Fifty

--

Photo by Prince Akachi on Unsplash

This past Saturday, a stranger gave me the title “Gangsta.”

It was unexpected.

But it felt great.

Not because I knew what the person who called me a Gangsta meant but because everything in the way he said it lifted my feet off the gray concrete of my Brooklyn sidewalk.

How I earned the title

It was a sidewalk-colored day. A moderately heavy rain was falling.

I had a package to take to UPS just around the corner, and the smell of Michael’s bakery treats called to me from across the street.

I grabbed my package — a 6-foot rolled-up rug I was returning, securely re-packaged in broken, heavily taped plastic, my keys, and phone, and ran out the door.

I love the rainy weather almost as much as I love sunshine, the feel of raindrops hitting my skin and lovingly descending, cleansing, and therapeutic in their touch.

I gleefully stepped into the gray and wetness of the day.

A few bounces into my journey to the corner, a young man on the sidewalk declared:

--

--

Michelle A. Patrovani - M.A.P.
Thirty over Fifty

Pursuing simplicity & meaning. Mom of young adult sons with life-threatening, incurable illness. X: @AbundantBreath LI: https://www.linkedin.com/in