Buying the Perfect-Fitting Jeans, Engineer Style

Shelly McIntosh
Ain’t Yo’ Mama’s Tea Party!
4 min readOct 6, 2019

--

Or how my husband’s side of the closet became filled with ill-fitting jeans.

Image by Myriam Zilles from Pixabay

I have often said that I wish I had invented blue jeans: the most spectacular, the most practical, the most relaxed and nonchalant. They have expression, modesty, sex appeal, simplicity — all I hope for in my clothes.

Yves Saint Laurent

Once upon a time, my husband bought a new pair of jeans. This is how it went.

My husband’s new pair of jeans came in the mail yesterday. He tried them on for me. They look great.

I don’t make a habit of checking out men’s backsides, but he looks good in these jeans. The important thing is they passed the “long and lean” look.

My husband is a runner and has a runner’s body. Put him in his black jeans and a dress shirt with the sleeves rolled up and my brain thinks “yum.”

With me so far? Not a big deal. A man buys a pair of jeans.

The purchasing process is what makes these jeans interesting. They are custom made jeans purchased online.

--

--

Shelly McIntosh
Ain’t Yo’ Mama’s Tea Party!

Writes about life and relationships. Cats feature prominently in her satire pieces.