LETTERS TO A HEAVENLY FRIEND

Happy Birthday Terry!

Do you know how much we miss you?!

Robin Klammer
Ain’t Yo’ Mama’s Tea Party!
3 min readJan 31, 2024

--

Photo by Owen Bruce on Unsplash

Dear Terry,

Do you know how much you are missed?
Today is your birthday; January 31, but you’re not here to celebrate with us.
Instead, you’re up there. No longer tethered to Earth.

I think of you often. I miss your laugh and your jokes. How you listened to me when I needed a non-judgmental ear… Do you know how much I held you dear?!

As fellow Aquarians, we seemed to get each other. We didn’t need to explain ourselves because we knew what the other felt. We shared many struggles, such as episodes of crushing depression. We’d listen as the other spilled their troubles without fear of reproach.

When Terry told me he had cancer, my heart sank. My stomach rose to my throat. Not only did he have one kind of blood cancer, he had two. What are the odds?

Terry fought long and hard right to the bitter end. He was the eternal optimist, even though the prognosis was poor. He had a stem cell transplant, and it didn’t take the first time. His sister was the donor, and she tried again to help her baby brother.

--

--

Robin Klammer
Ain’t Yo’ Mama’s Tea Party!

Searching for my True North, Strong & Free... ehhhh?! Garden of Neuro sister & Queen of Snark! 👑