RELATIONSHIPS ARE COMPLICATED AF

Not Your Usual List

But I’m not your usual gal

Robin Klammer
Ain’t Yo’ Mama’s Tea Party!
5 min readJan 4, 2024

--

Photo by Beth Chobanova on Unsplash

This last year has been one of humongous change for me. The first and biggest change? I left a relationship that no longer worked. Well, that’s a gross understatement if ever there was one. It was dead in the water, or on life support, and I finally had the guts to pull the plug. My threshold of pain had taken its toll, and I was just plain done. We both were. At any rate, I don’t know how long he would have hung on, and I don’t care to ponder the scenario.

I played a part in the dysfunction, I won’t deny it. It usually happened when I couldn’t take the BS anymore. My soul was screaming, and my heart lay in shards on the floor that could never be pristine enough for his high falutin self-flagellating ego which I had never encountered before in my entire life.

Anywho…moving along.

If you have ever been part of a narcissistic relationship, then you know the cognitive dissonance, the defeat, and the feeling of utter helplessness until you can’t stand it anymore. But it’s not that simple, especially if there’s kids involved. It’s never simple. There are endless variables that compound the complexity of this kind of relationship.

--

--

Robin Klammer
Ain’t Yo’ Mama’s Tea Party!

Searching for my True North, Strong & Free... ehhhh?! Garden of Neuro sister & Queen of Snark! 👑