Addiction

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine
Published in
2 min readJan 12, 2017

What are you addicted to?

Here’s a list of things I’m addicted to, and some reasons why.

  • Teaching – everything I see, I relate it to teaching. I think about what I’m going to create for my kids next, and printing things off and laminating them is so darn fulfilling
  • Coffee – up until a few months ago, I was not addicted to caffeine. Every morning now I have a coffee with milk and nesquick in it. Such an awful habit, but I like it for whatever reason. I will eventually get back into tea, and then back into decaf tea.
  • Cuddles – I think I was a bit deprived of physical touch as a child, I have little to no memories of hugs or cuddles. It hurts to even think about it, but now I have access to (almost) all the cuddles I could ever need, and the lack of cuddles in my past makes me appreciate them so much more.
  • My phone – as much as I wish this wasn’t true, I love my phone. When I’ve lost it, even for a few minutes it’s like the world is ending. It’s like my access to all the people, the world, the information, the books, the music, the everything!
  • Summer – in summer I always feel a smile on my face, I love that sun shining down on me, the lack of preparation needed to just walk outside. I long for it all the long winter days.
  • Kids – sometimes kids can be little brats, but I still love them. There’s nothing like a kid saying something weird that makes you laugh or smile, they are truly unexpected and intelligent creatures.
  • My man – he is truly my best friend. He never ceases to amaze me, and even when I think we’ve reached our peak of bestfriendship, somehow we get even closer. It truly is like a sleepover every night, filled with laughs, sarcasm, fake fights, and falling asleep with each other. Who could ask for anything more?

Although addiction can be bad, it’s part of life. I’m not ashamed of my addictions, as they shape who I am. I can try to change them, but mostly I’ll just turn that addiction into another. Live and learn, and be true to thyself.

--

--

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine

A small town Canadian girl with endless thoughts and hopeless dreams.