Foods I Couldn’t Live Without

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine
Published in
2 min readJan 15, 2017

I’m very lucky that my parents growing up, treated meals with great importance. It was the most important thing for us kids, to eat healthy, and enjoy it.

Although we don’t have a lot of money now, being an adult sure sucks sometimes, I still think food is important. I want to eat fairly well, and enjoy what I’m eating. Here are some foods I wouldn’t ever want to give up!

  • Ketchup. I don’t eat it plain, but when you make a grilled cheese and there’s no ketchup, that’s a big downer. I’ve gotten my ketchup to other food ratio down to a great science.
  • Cheese. Cheese in general is fantastic. Alone, on top, inside, shredded, slices, cream. I like it all!
  • Ranch dressing. How else can I force myself to eat broccoli? Ranch dressing just helps those vegetables slide down a bit smoother.
  • Pineapple. I’m on the fence whether this is my favourite fruit or not. It’s sweet and juicy, and it even has its own juice, IN A CAN! Say what!?
  • Berries. Yup. Blueberries, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and any other berries I’m missing, have a big place in my heart, and stomach. Memories of going as a kid to pick such berries, add to the awesomeness of these fruit every time I eat them.
  • Potatoes. Potatoes are good in every form, IN EVERY FORM!
  • Gravy. I sure love a good homemade gravy on my potatoes. And eating a roasted something without gravy and it’s dry as ever, how do you even accomplish that without the gravy!? I could probably eat chalk if it was covered in gravy. If I had to of course.
  • Corn. Corn on the cob, popcorn, corn in a can, frozen corn, whatever! My favourite way is mashed potatoes, corn and gravy all mixed together. Nobody else understands this though, I’ve been doing it for as long as I can remember.
  • Meat. I don’t have a favourite really. But I like to have a good variety. Growing up on a farm does that to ya!

I think thats it. I could easily survive on these foods alone. Variety is of course great, but these are by far the most important foods in my food-filled life. And… think of the possibilities!

--

--

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine

A small town Canadian girl with endless thoughts and hopeless dreams.