I’m Coming Back

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine
Published in
1 min readJan 15, 2017

Depression hit me hard this winter, but I’m finally feeling myself again.

The early winter was filled with sadness, sorrow, confusion, numbness, depression.

Each day I would try to push myself, just keep going, try not to think. I was exhausted and sad, for no reason. Hardly eating, hardly sleeping and filled with sorrow. I hardly laughed, every time I pretends to smile, I nearly cried. Thoughts raced through my head, day and night.

Should I have done that?

Why did I do that?

What if I wasn’t here?

Does anything really matter anymore?

Will this ever end?

Who am I, really?

Thankfully, and for no particular reason, these thoughts are subsiding. I am now hungry, I am hopeful, there are so many things to look forward to. I no longer feel like my brain is in a fog, it is clearer, almost where it needs to be. There is purpose for me, I’m not certain what it is, but it’s there. Somebody cares.

Here I am, gathering the pieces of my broken self, reassembling who I truly am. I will continue this fight, and hopefully one day know how to combat this brain of mine, and be myself in peace.

--

--

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine

A small town Canadian girl with endless thoughts and hopeless dreams.