Someone Like You

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine
Published in
2 min readJan 14, 2017

If there was someone out there who looked exactly like you, would you want to meet them? If there was someone who acted just like you, would you like to meet them? What about someone who had the same hobbies as you, would you like to meet them? This is what I ask myself.

Before I was born, my mother lost a baby. This was to be baby number two, and the last that they would have, if it was a girl to offset their only son. The baby did not survive long enough to know the gender. My mom tells me she was absolutely distraught about this baby, she wanted to keep it so badly. People would tell her “it’s okay, you can have another baby that will be healthy”. This made her angry and more upset, as she didn’t want another baby, she wanted that baby.If that baby had survived, I wouldn’t have been born.

Thankfully, my parents moved on with hope in their hearts, and did conceive again. Although I will never truly know, I have thought of this sibling many times before, and definitely believe it was a sister. I give this sister all my love, and she must’ve been selfless, to end her life for me.

I have since seen psychics, with no mention of this at all by me, but they always seem to mention that it was a sister, and that she’s always with me.

I have a hard time imagining my life with this sister, if she and I both had lived. What would she be like? Would she be smarter than me? Funnier than me? Cooler than me? Maybe we’d be like twins, maybe we’d be polar opposites, it saddens me to think that I will never truly know. Part of me has and I believe, always will, long for that sisterly best friend connection that I see around me. I’ll never know that feeling.

My life may have been completely different than it is today, or perhaps it wouldn’t even exist.

I thank this sister for everything she has given me, in fact, she has given me everything.

I am thankful for a chance at life, I will try and live a life filled with purpose, not only for me, but for you.

--

--

Saira Elizabetti
This Brain of Mine

A small town Canadian girl with endless thoughts and hopeless dreams.