Natalie Bickel
2 min readMay 30, 2019

Prison: A Mental Game for a Video Gamer

This writing is from Manuel Chase Mikes who is unable to submit this piece himself.

Since I was very young, I have always enjoyed video games. I even got in trouble for playing video games when I was not supposed to. So these were the times when I said to myself when I grow up no one going to be able to tell me ever again when I can play and cannot play my games. I remembered when I got my first apartment in Portland, Oregon. I would sometimes have to pawn my Xbox 360 for transportation or cigarettes or food. But the times I did paw n it I always got it out two or three weeks later.

Man, it’s hard to express how much I miss playing my Xbox 360. My favorite game of all time was NBA 2k14 with King James on the cover in a Miami Heat uniform. That’s when I knew LeBron was going to win a championship. He just had that look in his eyes. I just was excited by the cover; the advertising was marketed well. I went out and picked up two used copies from GameStop. I played a lot but not enough. I say that because that’s all I think about once I get back out into society after my prison sentence is done. I plan to master NBA2k14. I know I will have to play often and I am willing to put in the effort and energy to be one of the best at playing NBA2k14. After I master NVA2k14 then I want to master NVA2k19 that has LeBron on the cover in a Lakers uniform. So this is the hope of a true gamer.