unsplash.com / alexander shustov

Hey beautiful…

Agustian Hermanto
2 min readOct 7, 2013

Do you remember how we met?

I still do.

It was one sunny Friday afternoon at a local mall. I clearly recall the sound of people chattering and the sight of people huddling in front of a shop. Curious as I am, I tried to get closer and to get my view on what was it all about.

And there you were. Standing elegantly and taking in all the compliment and attention you deserved.

I thought to myself, there’s no way I could be with someone like you. You’re just too beautiful and perhaps too complicated for someone like me.

Little did I know, my inner lust led me to you.

A few days passed by and I saw you again at the mall. I gathered all of my courage and went to approach you. I felt instant strong desire to be with you. And before we know it, we are together.

You are the best thing that has ever happened to my life. Your elegant demeanour and sleek enticing body, I could ask for nothing more.

Best of all, you make my life more fun, you help me see the world through a different lens, you help me organize my life and you’re always there for me.

I get uneasy when you’re not there. I get nervous when you’re not with me. And I don’t know what to do when you’re not around.

We have become so close.

Too close perhaps.

We’ve been together for a few years and I’m starting to feel you’re taking a lot of my personal time. We are inseparable. You’re the first thing I see in the morning and the last thing I say good night to.

You crave attention when I’m trying to spend time with friends. You follow me wherever I go, even to the bathroom!

It has become too much. I don’t think I can do this anymore.

I love you, but I don’t love you that much.

… goodbye beautiful.

… goodbye iPhone 4.

P.S. This post is inspired by David Spinks power of routines and it’s not about me ditching my iPhone 4. It is about creating a healthy habit because personally I feel my smartphone has become some kind of addiction. So, I’m limiting my smartphone usage and will focus on the basic necessities, such as phone call and text messaging, for most of the times.

--

--

Agustian Hermanto

Sixty Two co-founder. Product strategist. Dive the deepest sea and hike the highest mountain. Life is a Playground!