The Opposite of Privilege is Oppression

The opposite of white privilege is black oppression

Candace C
This human thing

--

Photo by Tito Texidor III on Unsplash

This is going to be a short article…because I just don’t have the time today.

Do you understand that the opposite of privilege is oppression? Do you understand that your whiteness gets you privileges while my blackness causes me to be oppressed?

The opposite of privilege is not indifference. If it was indifference, then I would at least be left alone.

But I am not left alone.

If I was left alone, I would be happy with that.

But I am not happy.

If YOU walk into a store, you have the privilege of trapesing through the aisles at your leisure — without anyone following you around. When I walk into some stores, people feel the need to follow me around just because I’m black.

They are oppressing me.

“How?” you say.

“Maybe you’re inconvenienced, but surely you aren’t oppressed?”

According to Oxford Languages,

to oppress is to cause someone to feel distressed, anxious, or uncomfortable.

Tell me! Are you comfortable with people following you around like you’re a hardened criminal?

--

--

Candace C
This human thing

A God follower, a wife, a mom, a visionary, a #homeschool mother, a friend. I write about whatever bothers me at the moment @janadoeshomeschool on Instagram