Why You Shouldn’t Always Say Yes

Jada Monique
This Is Adulting
Published in
4 min readAug 15, 2020

--

Photo by Drahomír Posteby-Mach on Unsplash

If you are anything like me, then you are a person who always says yes to things and has a hard time saying no to people. In the last year or so, I have started to reevaluate why I feel like I always need to say yes and how doing that can sometimes hurt me. While saying yes is not bad, it can quickly turn you into a person who gets walked all over and taken advantage of.

In my own life, I’ve had many instances where I was breaking my back with how much I was saying yes and doing things for other people. As someone who doesn’t like disappointing people, it’s easy for me to become a yes girl, but I have slowly begun to realize the downsides to always saying yes.

You Can’t Always Be a People Pleaser

No one is more of a people pleaser than me. Whenever I feel like I’ve let someone down, it will bother me for hours. It’s one of the best and worst things about me. While it’s good to be someone who likes to help others, always worrying about how others are doing will make it so you aren’t thinking about yourself. If you are like me and find yourself saying yes because you don’t want to upset someone, remember it’s not your responsibility to keep everyone happy.

You Won’t Have Time For Yourself

--

--

Jada Monique
This Is Adulting

Software Engineer | Creator | Blogger — A girl with a side of nerd trying to navigate the real world and the tech world.