What are You Willing to Change?

Brian Sooy
This is EntreWorship
2 min readJun 24, 2017

Sometimes I wonder if all this writing makes any difference; if it’s worth the hours I spend reading, thinking, and reflecting in order to share perspective that will matter to somebody else.

Before you begin to think, “he’s having a pity party,” — I’m not feeling sorry for myself — I’m simply asking the question: “Does what I write (and by extension, what you are reading), make any difference and mean anything to you?

I’m not necessarily looking for an answer to the question. Writing is just one pursuit I get to explore in my creative calling. The answer to your question will be different and will align with your calling, gifts, skills, and expertise.

“Does it matter?” is the first question you should ask yourself every day to start a dialog of significance. Before you begin your day, look in a mirror and ask yourself a simple question: “Does what I am going to be doing today matter?”

Steve Jobs, former CEO of Apple, shared a similar perspective: “When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like: ‘If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.’ It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘no’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.”

Most of us aren’t called to lead a global technology company like Apple, but it doesn’t mean that we can’t make a significant difference in the lives of those whose we influence through our words and actions.

Too often we think that making a difference only applies to those who work in the social sector or the nonprofit space. I disagree. The difference we make isn’t about what we do, it’s found in whether it makes someone’s life better.

You and I can rejoice in this affirmation of our calling! It doesn’t matter what role we’re in; making a difference and doing work that matters is distinguished by how we serve.

You won’t make a difference by accident. You make a difference by being intentional.

If today were the last day of your life, would you want to do what you are about to do today?

Will you have to change what you’re doing, or simply change how you go about doing it?

What are you going to change?

Check out the new series of books of insights and conversations with founders and entrepreneurs for exploring the intersection of work and worship at EntreWorship.com.

--

--

Brian Sooy
This is EntreWorship

Agency Owner @aespire | Brand Architect | StoryBrand Certified | author http://amzn.to/2t2JHIQ