Organized & Beautiful: Our Fresh New Dining Room

Mandy Mills
This is How We Live
2 min readJun 19, 2018
Photo: Chris Mills @chrismillsphotography

As a realtor, I love getting a glimpse into how people live and decorate in their own homes. I’m a shelter mag junky and am always on the lookout for cool, new ideas. I watch what’s happening in the world of design so that I can help inform my clients’ design decisions. Right now I’m in love with dark trim and crown molding, which looks amazing with the crisp, white walls I adore.

So naturally I had to try it in my own home. My dining room needed an update, so we painted the trim navy, which feels fresh and modern. Working with Rachel Dougan from ViVi Interiors, we also created a wall of artful cabinets. Painted navy and trimmed in brushed gold metal, the cabinets hide things out of sight. Each family member has their own cabinet for their stuff, from backpacks and soccer cleats to piano books and shoes. Now it’s all corralled in one place and easy to find, instead of being sprawled all over the house. (You parents know what I’m talking about!) I call them the family lockers. (Does that make our dinner conversations locker room talk?)

We had to lose square footage to build the cabinets, but they oddly make the room feel bigger. I think the dark color with the metal accents feels warm and glamorous. It’s such a small thing, but it has made a huge impact on our lives.

In fact, when I’m working with clients, I love to make suggestions about how they can design their space. I don’t just sell you a house; I want it to be a home you love, day in and day out. Some of my clients call me years before they sell, precisely so I can make these kinds of recommendations. If you make your home beautiful and functional for you, it will pay off later when you decide to sell. Because who doesn’t love being organized and beautiful at the same time?

--

--

Mandy Mills
This is How We Live

A real estate maven, design aficionado, enamored wife and mom of three precocious children, and southern girl who believes pearls go with everything.