We’re All Beautiful

Mandy Mills
This is How We Live
1 min readFeb 20, 2018

I love fashion week! I love seeing the runway shows, I love the street style photography — it’s one of my favorite times of year. And I love that fashion is finally catching up and celebrating diversity, whether it’s body, age or ethnic differences. Last week, at New York Fashion Week, plus-size models were a regular feature. Ashley Graham (she is so gorgeous!) opened (I mean, she opened!) for Christian Siriano, who has helped propel the body positive trend in fashion by including women of color and plus-sized models in his shows.

Body shape wasn’t the only diversity on the runway. Chromat designer Becca McCharen-Tran featured Viktoria Modesta, an amputee singer-songwriter, who walked in her prosthetic leg, and breast cancer survivor, Ericka Hart, who revealed her mastectomy scars. Chromat didn’t stop there, including 54-year-old, plus-size model Emme; trans activist Geena Rocero; and hijabi-wearing model Kadija Diawara.

I’m so happy to see the catwalk reflect real people from all walks of life. After all, we are all beautiful!

--

--

Mandy Mills
This is How We Live

A real estate maven, design aficionado, enamored wife and mom of three precocious children, and southern girl who believes pearls go with everything.