Do you see yourself in your dreams?

This is us
This is our life
Published in
2 min readFeb 2, 2021
Photo by William Daigneault on Unsplash

It was just another lazy Sunday morning. I woke up at around 8 AM and I sneaked to the hall for a few minutes of “me” time to watch the latest movie reviews on YouTube.

Soon I heard the sound of Aditi’s anklets. In no time, she was at my sofa’s armrest with that naughty smile on her face! Time for some daddy jokes! I closed my laptop.

“Aditi, I had a scary dream, I was being chased by a dinosaur!” I was not making this up, I could vaguely remember me hiding, a Jurassic park movie type of experience. That was enough, she started with her story about her dreams. Her dreams are always so vivid, I always doubt she is adding her own fresh ideas to the whole story every time!

The events in her dreams were so disconnected. I pretended to listen, but I was losing interest. But then she paused for a moment and called “Daddy…”.

That brought my attention back. She asked, “Do you know you don’t get to see yourself in your dreams?”

Oh yes, that is true. I was surprised! I never noticed that before. I am present in every dream of mine, but I was never in front of the camera! I did a quick Google and confirmed that’s the case with most people, not everyone though!

I turned to congratulate her for that great observation. By then, she had already opened Netflix, pushing me out to get her toothbrush!

--

--