Adv Mukundan Unni provoking our thoughts!

This is us
This is our life
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2023

** SPOILER ALERT **

I recently saw a Malayalam film “Advocate Mukundan Unni associates”. The story didn’t impress me at first, as it was an upsetting experience of evil thriving over good. I got so used to movies with stories where good wins over the evil. Even if there is a movie where with hero on negative shade, director spent good amount of time with a backstory justify the main character’s acts by showing his bitter past! But here is a movie with no such attempt, just blatant story telling where a selfish man who thrives doing all evils to win. But that is a also story to be told, as that is very well a possibility- right? This does happen in real life even if though one might argue that is rare. It is really a bold and brave attempt to break such a stereotype! Kudos!

I always think when we rate an experience in life, we try to react based on similar experiences in the past. Evolution chose to build our brain that way for our own benefits. Hence, when an experience is way different from a template that we can accept, we will rate it as bad or low. For example, I didn’t like Japanese cuisine Sushi when I tasted it first. Cold sticky rice! That’s opposite of how I have tasted rice before. I like rice to be warm, not sticky. But when I realised the problem is with my outlook towards that dish, because Sushi is quite a popular dish. Hence, I gave it a try again, and you know what, it now tops my list when i visit Japanese restaurant.

It’s when you start breaking such stereotypes, it opens up another thousand windows for you to experience our short life to its fullest. You get to enjoy a variety of things whether is is food, films and many other more.

--

--