A Wet Day in Paradise

Brandon Rojas
2 min readMay 31, 2018

--

Life, it’s full of experiences, they shape and mold you into the person that you are. As humans we get to experience these moments every single day. One day, 24 hours, it’s always a new beginning. Some experiences are bad, some are great, that’s just how life goes. This summer I have the privilege of traveling abroad to the wonderful country of Spain, currently I am staying in Valencia, a beautiful city on the east coast of the country. Only having been here for seven days, I have already seen many sites and experienced many parts of the Spanish culture.

Sunday, May 27th, 2018. It started out as a great day, I met up with some friends and explored the city of Valencia on our way to an art museum. One thing I realized though, was that the art wasn’t only in the museum. Picture Valencia as a giant canvas, now look around and see the creative imaginings of many artists in and around the city, cascading off the walls and through the streets. This is one of the reasons why I love traveling to different countries. Seeing their culture and how they bring it to life through their people.

After we finished touring around the city, I decided that there would be enough time for me to run home and grab my gopro in order to film at the flamenco dance later in the day. I definitely misjudged, 25 minutes later I finally reached sprawling doors of my home. Quickly, I went inside to grab my belongings and run back out the door. I check the time on my phone, 6:30, I was supposed to meet at the tower with the other students, at 6:30. If you thought it couldn’t get any worse, it does. The wind swirled and rain drops started falling, more like pouring, buckets. I was soaked just after walking two blocks. I decided that since I am already wet, might as well keep walking through this miserable rain. Everyone else, running for cover under stores and restaurants, but the lonely American trudged on. Finally, making it to the tower, I spotted no one. Looking around, up and down streets, with no luck. I tried resorting to free Wi-Fi from different stores, still no luck. At this point, I lost all hope and walked on back to my home, no end in sight. It seemed like a lot longer of a walk than it really was. At last, I had made it home. My host-mother wondered why I was home so early. I told her that it wasn’t the best day for me, no luck finding the other students. She made me a sandwich and I laid in bed.

Probably not the best ending to a story, but that’s life, the good, the bad and the ugly. Every day is a rollercoaster, but you won’t know how it finishes unless you ride it to the end.

--

--