Anyone for Pimm’s?

Alycia Watt
This is Valencia

--

On a mad search for chocolate cake near Piazza de Santa Maria en Trastevere, three friends and I stumbled across a building covered in green vines and surrounded by cobblestone. We first noticed that we could all read the chalkboard sign which was rare in Rome. We had come across “Pimm’s Good.”

After sitting down outside we could hear Ella Fitzgerald softly singing “Tenderly” and various languages being spoken in a string of different accents. There was a soft breeze that made the umbrellas shutter and the hanging lights flutter. The air was brisk and filled with thick clouds after an intense rainfall. I decided it was perfect weather for my favorite drink on a cool day: tea!

Our waiter, a curly haired man with tufts of grey in his small afro chuckled when I asked “Que es la té?” He accommodated me by speaking English and continued to laugh at my weird hand gestures that attempted to show a cup of tea. He went off for our orders and we sat and took in our surroundings.

I felt comfort in how accepting they were of my lack of Italian. The Piazza isn’t particularly close to any touristy area. It was a little out of the way nestled between Via di Santa Dorotea and Vicolo Moroni. I had read on the chalkboard they had live music from 10 am to 2 pm. I wished I could have had a chance to experience that kind of daytime environment. It made me wonder what language the music would be in.

Soon after, the waiter returned with steaming water in a black mug on a small yellow plate and a fairly large wooden box. He smiled and walked away. I opened the top of the box to a world of flowery smells and fell in love. After coming down from my excitement I chose the unmistakable Chamomile. The waiter returned, took the box, and left the much needed slice of chocolate cake.

The entire ambiance of the place balanced the adorable snack we had stopped for. It was comfortable for those like me who were so displaced by the language barrier but didn’t completely step away from Italian culture.

After our treat, I decided to go inside and I finally saw the soothing space. There was a small-multicolored chandelier with tables lined up all along the walls. It had exposed brick, steal beams, and wood floors giving a comfortably rustic look. In the very back there was a giant mirror asking, “ANYONE FOR PIMM’S?” The statement was surrounded by the British flag. Although I didn’t order an actual Pimm’s, I proudly maintained stereotypical English culture with my cake and tea.

Overall, “Pimm’s Good” was the perfect place for me to take a little break from the touristic environment that Rome has. The combination of Ella Fitzgerald and my tea were the small reminders of home I needed. However, I know, on my next visit I will be sure to order a Pimm’s between 10 and 2.

--

--

Alycia Watt
This is Valencia

I am currently a student at Cal State Fullerton with a double major in Film and Communications with an emphasis in Broadcast Journalism