It’s Pronounced Balenthia, not Valencia.

Sohwi Lim
2 min readMay 31, 2018

--

Little did I know I would be in Valencia for the summer! After purchasing my plane ticket, making my trip here official, I felt what anyone else felt — excited for new adventure, new food, new culture, but nervous to be traveling out of the States by myself, and nervous to be in a program knowing very little about it. When I told my parents about the program, they were very hesitate, but it did work out!

Now I am here, sitting in my room with two amazing roommates, plus my elegant, gracious, funny host parents, who are just fabulous from head-to-toe! (Literally).

I arrived to Valencia a little earlier than the rest of my peers, wanting to explore the city by myself for a few days. But it did not work out. First, my plane to Valencia was cancelled due to air strikings in France and second, when I did get here, I was actually to scared to leave my Airbnb and only stayed within the street of my Airbnb. It was quite stressful as I felt that my trip here was not really working out, but one call to my mom solved everything. In the midst of my stress, I called my mom and she said that when traveling, there is no way everything is going to work out perfectly. Flight cancelled? That’s okay! At least you are staying in a free hotel, with free food in Germany! Scared to be alone in Valencia? Exploring the neighborhood, or just the street is enough! You got here safely after two long days!

All my stress was released as I realized that I was not appreciating the present moment. I was letting the small incident take over me and I was ready to let them go. When traveling, plans are going to change, luggage will go missing ( or for me delayed), and your body will be tired. But it’s these moments that become a great memory and experience, and you learn to adjust to different situations.

A little over a week has passed, and I am adjusted. I am in love with Valencia! I feel comfortable here and can now walk to EuroAce without a map, walk to the tower without a map, and even find my way back home without a map. Call me a local!

As I sit on my bed, looking out the window, I am thankful and excited to discover more about this city, and deepen relationships with my friends at ieiMedia.

--

--