Just a Glimpse

Colette Bernsteen
This is Valencia
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2018

The faint buzz of a Spanish woman’s voice fills my ears as she strolls down the bustling sidewalk, clinging to her husband’s protecting arms. A tantalizing breeze fills my nostrils with the aroma of warm bread, sweet wine and oranges bursting with citrus. Lingering beads of condensation drip from my fingertips as I cradle my glass filled with sangria, tempting my taste buds with every sip I take. The constant blare of traffic pounds in my ears as I glance up from my work to allow myself to appreciate my surroundings.

As I pan across scenes of busy shop keepers, waiters and passersby, I think to my host mother, creating a haven for my unanswered fears during my first anxious night in Valencia. Despite her inability to speak English, her understanding of my appreciation allows my narrative to unfold due to her deliverance of love and care through her stories, gestures and kindness. I am humbled as I think of her hands, worn by work, filling the mouths of loved ones. I drift to the image of her eyes, twinkling in delight as I thank her for her paella and potato stews. Finally, I ponder the thought of her feet, ensuing 70 years of life-long struggle to ensure the happiness of others.

As my thoughts unfold, the sound of pedestrians, walking home for siesta pulls me from my entangled thoughts. As I rise from my chair, I close my jet-lagged eyes and take in one last lingering breath. I feel the soft breeze sweeping over my face, listen to the therapeutic rhythm of feet moving along the pavement and smile as the soft chime of church bells signal my calls for home.

--

--