My Take on Valencia

Jordan Schnitzer
2 min readMay 31, 2018

--

After landing in Valencia after almost 12 hours of traveling, I was exhausted and could think about nothing but a bed. I forgot all about that bed the second I got in the taxi and started driving through the city. Even though clouds covered the sky and we zipped quickly past each building, I knew I had just stepped foot in one of the most beautiful cities I have ever been to. The palm trees surprised me the most. They make you feel like you’re in the tropics but then the sound of a horn reminds you that you’re in a bustling city. We drove past pink buildings, blue buildings, green, orange, and yellow buildings all uniquely designed and like I’ve never seen before. The city is a mix between modern buildings and gothic buildings with its own individual flare.

After a full night of sleep, we all got up the next morning and took a bus tour through the inside and outside of the city. The closer we got to the water the more modern the city. Driving past the City of Arts and Sciences felt like I jumped into a time machine and traveled 200 years into the future. But then the second we walked off of the bus at the bell tower it was as if we jumped right back into that time machine and traveled back. A couple days later we went on a walking tour of the city which gave us a brief history of the city. I loved walking through the streets as we were learning about them; I walked the streets imagining what it was like when the city was first starting. I cannot wait to learn more about the city and for the adventures to come.

--

--