Photo essay: Discipline Wins Over Siesta

Sohwi Lim
This is Valencia
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2018
Lee Ho Jae, 44, is a Taekwondo master, living in Valencia, Spain. His parents moved to Spain in the early 1970s and opened up Taekwondo Chong Do Lee to introduce South Korea’s traditional sport to the people of Spain. Lee was just 5 months old when his parents immigrated to Valencia, Spain.
From complete beginners to advanced Taekwondo practitioners, and from ages 3 to over 70, many Valencians take classes at Taekwondo Chong Do Lee.
Although Lee graduated Valencia Polytechnic University as an engineering major, Taekwondo was what he was passionate about. Lee decided to follow his father’s steps and took over Taekwondo Chong Do Lee.
Students stayed after class on Friday to practice and review for the upcoming promotion test, which gives them qualification to advance to the next color-belt.
For more than 40 years, Taekwondo Chong Do Lee has become a place of learning, of friendship, and of experiencing cross-culturalism. The reason Lee’s father was able to adjust comfortable in Valencia was due to the emphasis on discipline in Taekwondo.
Lee met his wife, Hyeon Jin Lee, when she was studying abroad in Valencia, Spain. While Lee was raised in Valencia from a young age, Hyeon Jin Lee was born and raised in South Korea. Together they have been married for nine years, and have a little girl named Suri. “Who knew I would end up in Valencia?” she said.
“Studying engineering was fun, but Taekwondo was what really made me happy. As I followed my father’s steps, I grew to love teaching Taekwondo. When I teach children Taekwondo, I feel that I am helping them grow mature and become part of their adulthood. I see them when they’re older, I think it helped a lot.”
Lee rests after a long day of teaching Taekwondo. Although he is tired, Lee loves what he does.

--

--