Sounds of the City

Leslie Ambriz
2 min readMay 31, 2018

--

It’s my first night in Valencia. I’m laying in bed and can hear silverware tapping on plates and people conversing at the cafe across the street. There’s something oddly comforting about the sounds I hear outside of my apartment window.

The sounds of the city.

Sounds that in an instant, bring me back to my childhood home. I recall the roar of the cars and piercing firetruck sirens that would pass on the main street. It was my white noise and the Los Angeles background music that would lull me to sleep at night.

Thousands of miles away from home, I smile at the memory, get out of bed and pull out my travel journal. I start to write down the feelings and emotions that Valencia has brought to the surface. Excitement, accomplishment, fear and a strange blend of anxiety.

At first, Valencia was underwhelming. I remember looking out of my taxi window at the large apartment buildings, graffiti-painted walls, and busy streets. I thought, “This is VERY modern.” I was disappointed. In my mind, Valencia was a beautiful Spanish city with old buildings, small alleyways and flower-filled balconies. It was nothing like I’d pictured.

But the longer I’m here, the more I fall in love. I’ve fallen in love with the blend of ancient and modern. The graffiti sprawled across old walls and the engravings that can be seen from the city’s early beginnings. If these buildings could talk, they’d never shut up of stories filled with sad times and celebration. I’m filled with excitement as I walk down the city streets and take notice of the rich culture that Valencia has to offer.

Spain has a special place in my heart. It was not what I had imagined, but it’s a place my family dreamt of one day visiting. I’m the one to make that dream come true. My mother dreamt of living in Spain, but life got in the way. I didn’t expect to fall in love with the city. I just wanted to help my mother somewhat make her dream come true. One day she’ll be able to visit, but I can’t wait to go home and help her live vicariously through my experience.

It’s now 12 pm, and Valencia is still awake. I close my journal, make a mental note to call my mom tomorrow, turn off the light and fall asleep to the sound of the city.

--

--