Students discover each country as a bridge to the next

Ally Moreo
3 min readMay 31, 2018

--

Growing up in an Italian family, I have always understood the European culture. It is practiced in my home, as well as my grandmother’s and cousin’s homes. We eat dinner together, we value family on another level, we value our own time over money, we’re loud and we like to eat.

Taking a step into another European culture for the first time has altered my perspective, allowing me to recognize the similarities as well as differences that allow us, as a human race, to all coexist. For the first time, I’m living in Valencia, immersed to the culture with a host family and high quality authentic food.

Each culture has its unique aspects and I believe Valencia helps students to understand that. Valencians drink their coffee fast but walk slow. Their cars have the right of way, forcing everyone to stop short on major roads because they’re one second late to the little green man on a screen. They have an appreciation for their time, with their family and of course time spent napping, delagating more than enough time during their days to go home and eat, adding two more rush hours of cars to the day — one before siesta, and one after. There is a level of independence, as well as unity, throughout this whole country. If I didn’t know any better, I’d assume everyone was friends.

Early on this trip I walked into a coffee shop and proceeded to ask if they speak English. The barista proceeded to say “un poco,” but as I was leaving told me how to order what I wanted in Spanish. Interactions like this are showered throughout every Valencian street corner.

Each space and place in the world has its own traditions, ways of interaction and types of communication. While in the states I couldn’t ever imagine a barista teaching a Spanish speaking customer how to say, “I would like one coffee with milk,” its nice to understand that this culture values communication. While we may choose to walk in front of cars in the states, Valencia seems to actually value street laws. Unlike in the United States, people like to sit down for their meals — something I’ve been familiar with in an Italian culture.

Bridging the gaps between the cultures though, is what makes us all human. I’ve realized in my time here, as well as my time in other countries, that developing an understanding of another human being, especially how they choose to live their lives, allows the world to not only be more peaceful, but also more appreciative.

So as I sit and eat way more food than I ever would at lunch time, the plate becomes a chalkboard, and I become the kindergartner. There has been no greater gift than the ability to understand others, empathize and connect.

Throughout this trip I would love to not only explore the stories that people tell, but how they tell them and not only what makes the story unique, but what makes the story Valencian.

--

--