Valencia So Far…

Sam Adams
2 min readMay 31, 2018

--

As a designer, I have been wired to pay attention to the smallest details, and I am completely overwhelmed by the amount of detail that goes into the city of Valencia. Everywhere I look, I notice more and more aspects of the buildings and art that I hadn’t seen before. I wasn’t sure what to expect when I decided to come to Valencia. Sure, I thought it would be beautiful, but I don’t think there is a word that correctly describes how absolutely gorgeous this city is. I am in awe of the architecture, art, and symbolism that flows across through it all. Not only is it beautiful, but there is so much symbolism and meaning behind it all! I would love to have been a fly on the wall of the room where the designers discussed the plans for any of these buildings or sculptures.

We visited the Church of Saint Nicholas and I was moved to tears by how breathtakingly beautiful it was inside. I would have been content spending the entire day, just sitting in one of the pews, surrounded by the art. This was a whole new level of symbolism for me. Every single aspect of the building was executed with a purpose and to see it on such a large scale was inspiring to me. It was also very sentimental to me because I was raised Catholic, and even though I don’t practice the religion as much, the feelings I experienced while being inside were on another level. I lit a few candles for my family members that have passed on and there was a sense of peace that washed over me.

It has only been a week, but I am already completely in love with Valencia and everything it has to offer. I haven’t even seen everything yet! There will definitely be tears when I am forced to get on the flight home, but until then I’ll be sipping on Agua de Valencia and trying to keep my jaw off the ground as I walk around.

--

--