Weekend Excursions

Kenyon Hood
2 min readJun 11, 2018

--

Over the course of my study abroad in Valencia, Spain, I have had a few opportunities to travel around the country. Last weekend I leapt at the opportunity to see Mallorca, as I had never been on an island before. The views did not disappoint.

Luckily I had a window seat and the skies were clear. I have always enjoyed watching planes take off; something about a metal tube flying through the sky is absolutely mind-blowing to me.
This little cove was not far from my hotel. I absolutely love the palm trees and boats, and the blue skies just make the scene even more picturesque.
Isolated pockets of rocky tidepools dotted the beach, but there was too much human activity in the area for the massively diverse ecology these usually provide. Only a few small fish could be seen darting back and forth.
On the far side of the beach was this old, rough wall. I do not know if it has an old history or if it was simply not maintained, but it certainly looked very cool.
A stark contrast to the open expanse of the sea, the city of Palma can feel almost claustrophobic with buildings looming down on you from all sides.
The Palma cathedral is so large and detailed, there is no one angle to fully do it justice, but this picture gives an idea of the immense size of the building.
The intricate detail of the building is absolutely stunning. Not only are gargoyles sprouting from all sides, but each of those gargoyles is unique. The windows are ornately carved, the roof is covered in terracotta shingles, and each individual stone can be seen. Incredible!
Utterly grand and imposing, the front of the cathedral ranks among the most spectacular in the world.
The interior is possibly even more impressive, with gothic vaulted arches stretching high above the heads of tourists, priests, and worshipers alike.

--

--