Feeling Old-ish in Podgorica, Montenegro

First impressions of my fifth Balkan capital.

Jeremy Helligar
This Must Be the Place

--

Today I’m in Podgorica, the capital of Montenegro. This is the view from my 10th-floor rental.

The city itself is fairly blah-ish, but the mountains that surround it totally make the place. My interactions with the locals in Montenegro have been my least favorite of the five ex-Yugoslavia states I’ve hit so far, but from up here, everything is lovely.

Last night I was invited to a bar called Berlin. Now I haven’t been inside a bar in three months, and I wasn’t sure I could stay up until 10pm (!), but since the guy who invited me described it as “a gay-friendly rock & roll dive,” and since it’s only 300 meters from where I’m staying, and since I’ve applied to a masters program in the real Berlin, I decided to give it a shot.

I arrived at 10.30, and I couldn’t find the person who had invited me. I used to be someone who had no problem going out alone, but I no longer drink, and I just can’t with cigarette smoke, so I was out of there in five minutes. Not even “Common People” by the Pulp could get me to stick around feeling awkward. By 11, I was fast asleep.

--

--

Jeremy Helligar
This Must Be the Place

Brother Son Husband Friend Loner Minimalist World Traveler. Author of “Is It True What They Say About Black Men?” and “Storms in Africa” https://rb.gy/3mthoj