How Being a Highly Sensitive Person Improves Relationships

It’s time for a new perspective on Highly Sensitive People

Marissa Moore
Dreams and Stories

--

Photo by Mohamed Nohassi on Unsplash

I’ve always known I was a highly sensitive person, but there were so many idiosyncrasies in my personality-type that were difficult for me to understand. I failed to connect how my compassionate personality affected how I interact with my world. If you research signs of a Highly Sensitive Person, you might see traits like “overreacts,” “can’t take criticism,” “anxious,” and “trouble letting go.” I’ve been called a lot of these words before, and maybe at times, they have been true. People usually perceive these traits as negative. I want to challenge a different perspective, one in which being “sensitive” isn’t bad.

The term Highly Sensitive Person was first developed by Psychologist Elaine Aron in 1991 when she began her research on Highly Sensitive People. The scientific term for the Highly Sensitive Person (HSP) trait is called Sensory Processing Sensitivity or SPS. There has been evidence to suggest that the trait occurs in approximately 15–20% of the population. Being Highly Sensitive is not classified as a disorder, and it is often highly misunderstood or perceived negatively. Despite the negative perceptions, there are numerous relational benefits to being an HSP.

--

--

Marissa Moore
Dreams and Stories

Licensed Professional Counselor, Writer, Passionate Advocate for LGBTQ+ Rights — She/Her/Hers. Contributor for PsychCentral; Mentalyc Inc.