Dreams and Stories Poetry in September

What Writers Don’t Know

A poem for September

Mary Hood
Dreams and Stories
Published in
2 min readSep 30, 2021

--

We wandered through the thrift store
Searching for a treasure
Something to remind us
Of this day we spent together

Season in transition
Cooler days bid cozy garb
We were far from the familiar
Surely something fabulous
Would jump right in my arms

But like the gray mist clouds I spied
Rising ‘tween soaked somber leaves
Past and present stood side by side
My soul felt a longing breeze, a bit bereaved

A pair of jeans would be so nice
The ones I wear are years too old
Now I paw through memories unknown
Curves and gestures embed a mold

Trinkets once I’d grab to cherish
My children now too late to please
Years swallowed up the childish toys
No more did I want, no more did I need

Is contentment free of mourning
This giving and taking, losing and winning…

--

--

Mary Hood
Dreams and Stories

Born twice, I die daily. Serious about Jesus. What I write you may not want to read. Okay. I write what I believe and what I learn from others, just like you.