A Clean Well-lighted Place

Jscampbellauthor
This Side of Oblivion
2 min readFeb 28, 2020

Joined at the hips, but not at the brains
All blood spills, and flows from the strains
The suits walk in, compassion walks out
Why’d you have to go and make me scream and shout
I don’t expect perfection, but why’d I have to fall from grace
When all I ever wanted, was a clean well-lighted place

Feeding the poor, comforting the weary
Are some people’s children, other people’s theory
All the shifting feet, moving up and down
It’s hard to keep, firmly on the ground
I don’t expect perfection, but why’d I have to fall from grace
When all I ever wanted, was a clean well-lighted place

As the sun sets, it all seems strange
The indifference in, the winds of change
In the free market, faith costs most of all
When your beliefs, are in a free fall
I don’t expect perfection, but why’d I have to fall from grace
When all I ever wanted, was a clean well-lighted place

The cynicism of age, and the ideals of youth
Are searching for common ground, and the simple truth
The white picket fence, and the willow tree
Are searching for a home, and a way to be free
I don’t expect perfection, but why’d I have to fall from grace
When all I ever wanted, was a clean well-lighted place

--

--

Jscampbellauthor
This Side of Oblivion

J.S. Campbell is a #Transgender Author and Poet. Her publications include the collection, On Driftwood and Oblivion. https://jscampbellpoet.com/