Beyond Time and Space

Jscampbellauthor
This Side of Oblivion
2 min readMar 6, 2020
Art by J.S. Campbell

I saw him standing there, he was calling my name,
I moved to take a look, at the picture in the frame.
In a moment of realization, I recognized my face,
And began my journey beyond time and space.

It was a modern world, full of wonderful machines,
And millions of illiterate slaves, no knowledge on their screens.
And graveyards full of bones, from people who could not keep pace,
Burning through the phones, beyond time and space.

I searched for the green and blue, and found some people who cared,
We gathered in the colors, as others stopped and stared.
We hoped that they would join us, but that proved not to be the case,
They ran us out of paradise, beyond time and space.

We split up there, each going our own way,
Searching like a seed in the wind, for a place to take hold and stay.
I came upon a village, where a man talked about the race,
he was so full of knowledge, on everything beyond time and space.

I felt at home there, I liked listening to the man,
He said we’d play a game of cards, and I’ll tell you everything I can.
He said he’d give me cities and kingdoms, but he slipped himself an ace,
And cast me out into the wilderness, beyond time and space.

I crossed many miles through the desert, and came to a line in the sand,
Beyond it only black and white, I sensed destiny at hand.
I knelt, and I prayed, for God’s knowing grace,
As the picture weathered and aged, beyond time and space.

--

--

Jscampbellauthor
This Side of Oblivion

J.S. Campbell is a #Transgender Author and Poet. Her publications include the collection, On Driftwood and Oblivion. https://jscampbellpoet.com/