S.W.O.T. analysis of humanity

Andrew Bindon
#Social #3D #VR #MR #mind_mapping #app
4 min readJan 19, 2017

For a while now I have been working on a thortspace sphere where I tried to do a “S.W.O.T. analysis of humanity” …

https://thort.space/journey/110898789587140112950_5129815931640490948_2023071682883803580/1
Set YouTube quality to 1080p (via the Cog) or visit Thortspace for live content: https://thort.space/journey/110898789587140112950_5129815931640490948_2023071682883803580/1

S.W.O.T. stands for Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats. It is a standard business analysis that consultants like to apply to businesses. Often they like to make it into a quadrant, where Strengths and Weaknesses are both thought to be “internal” aspects of the company, and Opportunities and Threats are thought to be “external” to the company, in other words aspects of the wider community or environment within which the company is operating.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/0/0b/SWOT_en.svg/320px-SWOT_en.svg.png

I thought it would be fun, in any case, to apply this analysis to the “human project” as a whole, and the thortspace sphere is what I have so far come up with.

I’m not claiming my analysis is anything like definitive. I’m pretty sure I was the first to try doing this because at the time I thought of it I did a google search and didn’t find any significant competition. There were google results, but only ones that happened to have the word “humanity” on a page about S.W.O.T. analysis.

Since then, however, it seems to have become a veritable craze and all manner of other similars have been proposed. Possibly inspired by the way the human project has been going recently, the urgency of assessing our situation has become more pressing?

Here is the sphere:

The same Journey is embedded in a page here (which also has the narrative in a side column which you may prefer):

Strengths

Here’s what I came up with for strengths:

Weaknesses

…and weaknesses

Opportunities

Threats

OK, so what?

If you go look at the sphere,

you will see, I tried to build out my initial ideas about humanity’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats, with examples I came across that seemed illustrative of the aspects that occurred to me.

Further to this, looking at my sphere, it started to occur to me that there ought to be some synthesis possible of by connecting and cross-correlating amongst the 4 analysis categories.

Furthermore, I started to notice that my social media feed abounds with solutions that people are developing for all kinds of problems that human beings are currently having to deal with, and this made me think that there was a whole other way of looking at the analysis, starting from the other end. With this in mind, I started to develop a whole new major group on the other side of the sphere for Solutions which I’m thinking can grow outwards from the other side of the sphere and eventually link up in multifarious ways with my original analysis as it grows to meet it.

So now, I also have…

Solutions

So, from a distance, the sphere now looks a bit like this (although it does depend on which side you look at it from):

Take a journey round this sphere network

You can take a journey around this sphere network by following this link:

Feedback is welcome !

Feedback is welcome. :-)

https://youtu.be/m9JK854iBmE
https://youtu.be/jwMkmArqykc
Andrew is a Product Designer at Thortspace, the world’s first collaborative 3D mind mapping software. Thortspace enables breakthrough collaborative thinking whenever and wherever it is needed most. More stories here.

--

--

Andrew Bindon
#Social #3D #VR #MR #mind_mapping #app

Andrew is a Product Designer at https://medium.com/thortspace - #3D #VR #collaborative #thought_mapping #app. See it more than one way!