5 Tips and Tricks to Build Your Freedom Life

It’s 90% mindset and putting yourself in the right environment to make it happen for you.

Patrick Farrell
Those That Inspire
7 min readMay 8, 2019

--

Building my best life in Phuket, Thailand as The Abundant Circle

Do you want to build a life of freedom? Do you want to life that you don’t have escape from and where you don’t feel like you are working for the weekend?

Three years ago, that was my dream. I set out on a mission to create what I considered my dream lifestyle. There was something deep inside me that said if I don’t give this a try now, I’m going to lose the opportunity to build this life that I envision for myself.

30 years old, living in NYC, with a 6-figure salary. That’s the dream right? Or is it?

I was 30 years old, living in New York City, with a six figure salary. On paper, I had everything someone would tell you that you should want in life. But something was missing, and I realize now that it was a life of fulfillment. A life where I felt my work was aligned with my values and my passions; a life where I didn’t have to escape from two weeks per year when I had vacation time.

Three years later, I largely have accomplished that dream. I am no longer tied to a desk in Manhattan. In fact, I’m no longer tied to a desk at all. That doesn’t mean I don’t work hard, but it does mean that I can choose my own destiny. I can choose to be in California for the winter, or Europe for the summer; I can choose how and where I spend my time, and what projects I work on.

At the time, my version of success was a life of location independence and working on projects that aligned with what I wanted to create in the world. That’s why I say I have accomplished my dream. But I have a question for you.

What is does success look like for you?

2018 Adventures around the world. Spain, New York, Hawaii, Santori, Las Vegas. Go out and manifest your destiny.

This journey has been met with many ups and downs, but I wouldn’t trade them for the world. When I was at Nomad Summit this past year, one of the speakers talked about the entrepreneurial highs and lows. In my previous life, the highs and lows were all within a smaller range. The good times were good, and the bad times were bad, but they didn’t deviate too far on the spectrum.

In this new “digital nomad” and entrepreneur life I now lead, the lows have been much lower, but the highs are now incredible! Watching the sunset in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, hiking a waterfall in Bali, jumping off a boat in Croatia. I feel like I’ve lived more in the last 3 years than I did in the 10 years prior.

Now that I have accomplished those dreams from three years ago, my dreams have now expanded, both in terms of what I want in my life and how I can help others with their own dreams. My dreams have expanded to helping everyone that will listen create a life of fulfillment and joy. A life that people truly love and don’t have to escape from.

“I think for a lot of people it’s hard to see yourself taking on a certain path if you are not exposed to others that are doing the same thing. On the Croatia trip there were so many people that were working for themselves and traveling the world full time.”Marina Kirik

So how can you build a dream life for yourself?

Photo by Randy Tarampi on Unsplash

1. Invest in yourself

Investing money and energy into yourself is the fast track toward success in my opinion. You are going to pay for it one way or another, so why not invest money in yourself to move to the next level faster?

The last few years, I have invested so much in myself. I have invested time, money and energy into learning from other people about how they have built a life of fulfillment. And I truly believe that those investments will pay off over time, because they already have.

It’s important to invest your money wisely though, check the next few points on where you should be investing in yourself.

2. Work on your mindset

“Gratefulness is the antithesis of fear” — Danielle Prahl

I’m not kidding when I say that I believe this is 90% mindset. What you think about truly becomes who you are. If you are thinking about how the world is out to get you, then it will be.

But if your thoughts are empowering and you understand that your thoughts create your reality, that life is happening for you, there is true power there. With a healthy and empowering mindset, you will be able to focus more of that positive energy into your life.

Resources for mindfulness and meditation are now plentiful on your phone and the internet. Inspiring Ted Talks and YouTube videos are abundant. The information is out there, you just have to find it and apply it to your life.

3. Attend events that build connections and community

Consuming content and investing in online courses will only get you so far, you actually have to surround yourself with other individuals that have the life that you want and are willing to put in the work to make it happen for themselves.

That’s why I invest my time and money to attend events and conferences. These events build connections and a community that inspire new ideas and that strengthen my mindset. It’s like a big cycle, the more you surround yourself with like-minded, inspiring individuals, the more you become one yourself.

Nomad Cruise Documentary

I’ve attended events such as Nomad Cruise, Nomad Summit, Tony Robin’s Unleash The Power Within, The Abundant Circle, The Magic Of Human Connection, etc. Each of these has fed a connection and a community that drew me to the next one. And what ended up happening was that it really improved my mindset and allowed me to live more in the present moment.

Don’t wait, start living the life that you want so that you can create more of it for yourself.

4. Find People that have what you want and model them

“You’re The Average Of The Five People You Spend The Most Time With” — Jim Rohn

It’s true what they say, you are who you surround yourself with. So by attending events, joining Facebook groups and seeking out the right community, you will find and become friends with more people that already have what you want.

Go find coaches that you resonate with, that have something that you want, and learn from them. Buy courses that will give you the information you need to get to the next level.

Through these events and online communities I have been able to network with people such as Kristen Wilson who has a YouTube channel called Digital Nomad TV. I’ve been able to connect with people like Kylie Francis who has built a successful Facebook group to help people learn more about digital marketing, and I’ve become friends with Johannes Voelkner who created Nomad Cruise.

Without investing my time and energy to go to these events, my life would look totally different than it does today.

5. Go out and create your own things for the world

After I attended all of these events and invested all of this energy, I wanted to start finding ways to create these experiences for other people. That’s why I started running a Personal Growth Sailing Retreat in Croatia.

Once you learn from others, you can then put that energy into your own projects. I wanted to create in-person retreats for people to connect, grow, and train our brains and bodies for growth and success. I wanted a way to share with all of you how to build this dream life for yourself.

The next one is happening this summer in Croatia from June 5th to June 12th. If you would like to join us, please leave a comment below and checkout the website here!

--

--

Patrick Farrell
Those That Inspire

Founder and Business Coach for Online Entrepreneurs and Coaches. I help people create more freedom in their life and connect to their purpose.