Build Habits That Last

My experience based on the book Atomic Habit by James Clear

Fahmi Nurfikri
Thoughtful Shower

--

Photo by Fitsum Admasu on Unsplash

When we talk about making new habits, of course, it’s not an easy thing, especially if we weren’t used to doing it before. For example, if we are used to getting up late, of course, it will be difficult to get used to getting up early, especially if there is no encouragement or coercion that makes us have to do it.

That’s how I feel when I’m about to start a new habit. Long story short, after graduating from college and starting work I didn’t feel as fit as I used to, I often felt body aches and tired quickly.

From there I decided to start exercising regularly by watching some Home Workout videos from Youtube. Why YouTube? because at that time it was during the Covid-19 pandemic so I couldn’t leave the house freely and I’m not someone who likes to be outside the house. The days went by and of course, after 1–2 days I stopped. Determined again, then stopped again. In the end, I gave up.

Then, I tried reading the book Atomic Habit and tried to practice what I felt was suitable for what I was going to do. And it was these points that I felt suited me.

Start from small things

Big changes start with small steps. The mistake I might have made at the beginning was that…

--

--