How to Install Python Pyenv on macOS

Easy install and switch python version on macOS

Fahmi Nurfikri
Thoughtful Shower

--

Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

One of the hardest processes to learning python for beginners is installing python. Sometimes it was a version problem, the machine doesn’t recognize commands, etc.

I was included with people who deal with that problems. My solution at that time is just to install the Anaconda package. But since the Anaconda package size is too big for what I need, I feel that method is too overkill for me.

After searching for a while, I got the solution to this problem, and the solution is Pyenv.

What is Pyenv?

Basically, Pyenv is a tool to simplify installation and version changing in python. It helps developers quickly install or change the python version without needing to change the whole system.

In this post, I will show you how to install Pyenv and manage the python version.

Installing Homebrew

If Homebrew hasn’t been installed on your computer, run this command in the terminal.

/bin/bash -c "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/HEAD/install.sh)"

It will take a while. After the installation process is done, it will show you a message…

--

--