Why I will keep trying to socialize in groups (even though it’s hard)

An AuDHDer’s thoughts on group dynamics

Aneisha
Thought Jumps
1 min readOct 14, 2022

--

Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

I have a theory. Certain people do not go together in groups.

It’s like coke and Mentos. Enjoy them separately and it tastes nice and refreshing.

But if you put them together? Oh no don’t do that in public where people can get splashed.

And then other groups are like lettuce and soy sauce and fish sauce and red pepper flakes and sugar and garlic and onion and green onion. I see the list and wonder: “What do these ingredients make?”

It makes Sangchu-geotjeori. Korean spicy lettuce salad. Delicious and refreshing with a surprising crunchy mouth-feel. A great random discovery while browsing YouTube one day.

And stumbling into a good group feels like that. A combination of people I never would have thought of on my own. A great random discovery I want to experience again and again.

But usually I am peeking out from the bathroom watching everyone get sprayed with the coke and mentos because I had a feeling this wasn’t a spicy lettuce situation.

--

--

Aneisha
Thought Jumps

Late-diagnosed autistic/ADHD. Exploring the “I’m autistic. The past kind of sucked. Now what?” part in writing.