The freelancer myth

Yann Girard
Thought Pills
Published in
1 min readNov 2, 2016

Just because freelancer has the word “free” in it doesn’t automatically mean that you’ll be free.

As a matter of fact, most of the time being a freelancer or working on your own projects is the exact opposite.

It’s not about freedom. At least not during the first couple of years. Or maybe even decades.

Even though your body might be free and you can go to the mall in the middle of the day your mind will never be really free. You’ll constantly be worried about things.

You’ll be thinking thoughts like “Where or how do I find the next client?”

“How can I make my income more predictable?”

“How can I get a client who pays me every single month doing work I enjoy, instead of clients who only hire me to do the leftover work.”

That’s the truth many of us have to face working as a freelancer or working on your own projects.

And it’s not something only mediocre or average people have to fight with. Even the really, really good ones.

Simply because no one starts at the top. No matter how good you are.

We all have to start at the bottom and work our way to the top.

Most of the time the grass isn’t greener on the other side.

Just some of time…

Originally published at yanngirard.typepad.com.

--

--